Glimmerglass Girl

Glimmerglass Girl
by Holly Lyn Walrath

Poetry | Woman | Art

A chapbook of feminine writings with tales of fragile emotions that stir a whirlwind of strength. If read by a male mind, he may feel closer to knowing the heart of a woman. When a woman reads these poems, she may feel they were written for her.


It was impossible for me to stop reading until I had finished the last poem. Then I was sorry to see it over. I truly wanted more of this writing style.

The author tells secrets. She dares to say it. Life expects us to play nice and these poems felt like an outlet. Each poem meant something very deep and very personal to me.

While reading, I was reminded of things I do not need and the things that mean the most. What should be cherished. What can be let go.

In this wonderful book of poetry, the mundane is art.

Taking a note from one poem in particular, “I AM GOING TO FIND THE UNICORNS”. The entire piece is surreal yet hits me. It screams and sets things straight with “Blood and horns and teeth.” It is a beautiful way to thumb your nose to the world and carry on as one may see fit.


This poetry is not typical. The art following each poem makes this book a beautiful illustration.

The stories are told quickly. Being short and to the point, the point is driven hard and deep.

Mature reading and highly recommended.

Product Description (Netgalley)

Description
In her debut chapbook, Holly Lyn Walrath explores the boundaries of womanhood through speculative poems that defy genre. For readers who love Rupi Kaur or Lang Leav, Glimmerglass Girl is as powerful and delicate as a glass-winged butterfly.

“Tensile and luminous as a glass-winged butterfly, Glimmerglass Girl chronicles the passions of a woman’s heart and its multifarious musings with a marvelous mix of toughness and tenderness. In a shimmering world at once ‘honey-brimmed and buzzing,’ where ‘blueberry coffee’ and a ‘kissing prayer,’ or a ‘quiet mess of a body of light’ offer diurnal delights, this wildly chimerical gathering of hybridized fairy tales and fabulous meditations on womanhood might carry Emily Dickinson’s admonition of epistolary intimacy, ‘open me carefully.’ Indeed, readers should open Walrath’s slender volume carefully, hold these rare poems up to the sun, then lean in quietly to hear each one sing in flight.”

—Karen An-hwei Lee, author of Phylo of Joy, Ardor, and In Medias Res.

“. . . an intersection between ethereal loftiness, humorous speculation, and poignant consideration. . . a collection of poetry and images that encourage readers to be more than they perceive themselves to be.” –VIDA: Women in the Literary Arts

 

~Meet the Author Holly Lyn Walrath~

Holly Lyn Walrath received her Master’s degree in Creative Writing from the University of Denver. Her short fiction and poetry has appeared in Strange Horizons, Fireside Fiction, Liminality, Crab Fat Magazine, Mithila Review, Nonbinary Review, and other places. She works as a freelance editor and currently resides in Seabrook, Texas, just five minutes from NASA Johnson Space Center. She has two cats named Cleo and Panda and a husband who is a pediatric physical therapist. Along with writing, she enjoys geekery, books, self-aggrandizing statements, feminism, dystopia, and cat pictures.

~Follow Author~

Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads | Amazon | Website

Buy Glimmerglass Girl Finishing Line Press

 

The ebook format I read was borrowed at Netgalley

Advertisements

Her Crowning Frenzy: A Collection of Poetic Stories

Her Crowning Frenzy: A Collection of Poetic Stories

by Robin Chappell

Literature | Fiction | Poetry

Robin Chappell writes about real-life issues and situations. The author groups her poetic short-stories into chapters of Love, Rebellion, Heartache, Life, and Passion, sculpting the plots of each short-story with poetry. ‘Her Crowning Frenzy: A Collection of Poetic Stories’ is an upbeat read with a modern and fresh style.

The moment I started reading ‘Her Crowning Frenzy: A Collection of Poetic Stories’, I was reminded of Poe or Lovecraft and their writing styles. The notable difference, Robin writes with light and love. Her poetry has a strong and sometimes dark message but the light shines through her words.

Monsters exist. And while some of these stories have their monsters and horrible situations, Chappell writes with a spark that lights up those dark corners. Though they are fiction and fantasy, these stories felt real. The messages and life happenings were not always easy to take. However, through the trials and tribulations, the author brought forth hope, endurance and inspiration.

The stories are charged with lessons. Each story alone has an emotional message between the lines. At times the words tell of hard truths while every story absolutely leaves a deep and lasting impact.

Sometimes the stories felt whimsical, gentle and tender. At other times the stories felt more dire, dreadful and creepy.  Two stories stand out in my mind as I write this review. One of heaven and one of evil. The tone was completely different, though both stories flowed beautifully. One book, one author, with every story taking on a life of its own.

The poetry is incredible at digging deep. Amplifying, distorting, emphasizing, fabricating, heightening, intensifying, magnifying…. doing exactly what poetry is suppose to do. Poetry stirs the soul. And that is exactly what this book did for me.

These poems, stories, shorts, or prose, what ever name an expert of words would like to use, have brought me joy and sadness, sometimes snapping me to attention. The works in this book do exactly what poetry should. Each story made me feel.

I highly recommend even if you do not normally read poetry, you will still love this book. It is for adults and mature readers.

follow Robin Chappell on Instagram.

Her Crowning Frenzy: A Collection of Poetic Stories

Beautiful Books

My Library didn’t have a copy on hand of “Wuthering Heights” but I was able to put the title on hold. Amazon has it for free  in eBook format and that made me want “Jane Eyre” too.  I still put both on hold. While waiting for my books at the Library I decided to clean house and found “That Part Was True”. When I opened the cover a few family photographs fell out. I have to read it now.

I follow Robin Chappell on Instagram. That’s how I found Her Crowning Frenzy: A Collection of Poetic Stories. I bought the eBook and started reading right away. The hardcover is now on my wish list.

Four wonderful titles.

All different genres!

Reading for now, reviews later.

 

 

Her Crowning Frenzy: A Collection of Poetic Stories
by Robin Chappell
Product Review
Prepare to be swept away into a unique collection of imaginative adult short stories expressed in poetic form. Told directly from the mind of an eccentric millennial poet, they are divided into five important chapters: Love, Rebellion, Heartache, Life, and Passion. Each contains five expressive stories and poems from the authors up-close and personal experiences filled with dramatic controversy, philosophy, and dreams untold. These intricate tales are certainly for reading aloud and beginning deeper conversations!

 

Her Crowning Frenzy: A Collection of Poetic Stories

 

That Part Was True
by Deborah McKinlay
Product Review
When Eve Petworth writes to Jackson Cooper to praise a scene in one of his books, they discover a mutual love of cookery and food. Their friendship blossoms against the backdrop of Jackson’s colorful, but ultimately unsatisfying, love life and Eve’s tense relationship with her soon-to-be married daughter. As each of them offers, from behind the veils of semi-anonymity and distance, wise and increasingly affectionate counsel to the other, they both begin to confront their problems and plan a celebratory meeting in Paris–a meeting that Eve fears can never happen.

That Part Was True

 

Wuthering Heights
by Emily Brontë
Product Review
WUTHERING HEIGHTS is Emily Brontë’s only novel. Written between October 1845 and June 1846, Wuthering Heights was published in 1847 under the pseudonym “Ellis Bell”; Brontë died the following year, aged 30. Wuthering Heights and Anne Brontë’s Agnes Grey were accepted by publisher Thomas Newby before the success of their sister Charlotte’s novel, Jane Eyre. After Emily’s death, Charlotte edited the manuscript of Wuthering Heights, and arranged for the edited version to be published as a posthumous second edition in 1850. Although Wuthering Heights is now widely regarded as a classic of English literature, contemporary reviews for the novel were deeply polarised; it was considered controversial because its depiction of mental and physical cruelty was unusually stark, and it challenged strict Victorian ideals of the day, including religious hypocrisy, morality, social classes and gender inequality. The English poet and painter Dante Gabriel Rossetti referred to it as “A fiend of a book – an incredible monster […] The action is laid in hell, – only it seems places and people have English names there.” In the second half of the 19th century, Charlotte Brontë’s Jane Eyre was considered the best of the Brontë sisters’ works, but following later re-evaluation, critics began to argue that Wuthering Heights was superior. The book has inspired adaptations, including film, radio and television dramatisations, a musical by Bernard J. Taylor, a ballet, operas (by Bernard Herrmann, Carlisle Floyd, and Frédéric Chaslin), a role-playing game, and a 1978 song by Kate Bush.

Wuthering Heights

 

Jane Eyre
by Charlotte Brontë
Product Description
Jane Eyre follows the emotions and experiences of its eponymous heroine, including her growth to adulthood and her love for Mr. Rochester, the Byronic master of fictitious Thornfield Hall. In its internalisation of the action—the focus is on the gradual unfolding of Jane’s moral and spiritual sensibility, and all the events are coloured by a heightened intensity that was previously the domain of poetry—Jane Eyre revolutionised the art of fiction. Charlotte Brontë has been called the ‘first historian of the private consciousness’ and the literary ancestor of writers like Joyce and Proust. The novel contains elements of social criticism, with a strong sense of morality at its core, but is nonetheless a novel many consider ahead of its time given the individualistic character of Jane and the novel’s exploration of classism, sexuality, religion, and proto-feminism.

Jane Eyre (Bantam Classics)