Glimmerglass Girl

Glimmerglass Girl
by Holly Lyn Walrath

Poetry | Woman | Art

A chapbook of feminine writings with tales of fragile emotions that stir a whirlwind of strength. If read by a male mind, he may feel closer to knowing the heart of a woman. When a woman reads these poems, she may feel they were written for her.


It was impossible for me to stop reading until I had finished the last poem. Then I was sorry to see it over. I truly wanted more of this writing style.

The author tells secrets. She dares to say it. Life expects us to play nice and these poems felt like an outlet. Each poem meant something very deep and very personal to me.

While reading, I was reminded of things I do not need and the things that mean the most. What should be cherished. What can be let go.

In this wonderful book of poetry, the mundane is art.

Taking a note from one poem in particular, “I AM GOING TO FIND THE UNICORNS”. The entire piece is surreal yet hits me. It screams and sets things straight with “Blood and horns and teeth.” It is a beautiful way to thumb your nose to the world and carry on as one may see fit.


This poetry is not typical. The art following each poem makes this book a beautiful illustration.

The stories are told quickly. Being short and to the point, the point is driven hard and deep.

Mature reading and highly recommended.

Product Description (Netgalley)

Description
In her debut chapbook, Holly Lyn Walrath explores the boundaries of womanhood through speculative poems that defy genre. For readers who love Rupi Kaur or Lang Leav, Glimmerglass Girl is as powerful and delicate as a glass-winged butterfly.

“Tensile and luminous as a glass-winged butterfly, Glimmerglass Girl chronicles the passions of a woman’s heart and its multifarious musings with a marvelous mix of toughness and tenderness. In a shimmering world at once ‘honey-brimmed and buzzing,’ where ‘blueberry coffee’ and a ‘kissing prayer,’ or a ‘quiet mess of a body of light’ offer diurnal delights, this wildly chimerical gathering of hybridized fairy tales and fabulous meditations on womanhood might carry Emily Dickinson’s admonition of epistolary intimacy, ‘open me carefully.’ Indeed, readers should open Walrath’s slender volume carefully, hold these rare poems up to the sun, then lean in quietly to hear each one sing in flight.”

—Karen An-hwei Lee, author of Phylo of Joy, Ardor, and In Medias Res.

“. . . an intersection between ethereal loftiness, humorous speculation, and poignant consideration. . . a collection of poetry and images that encourage readers to be more than they perceive themselves to be.” –VIDA: Women in the Literary Arts

 

~Meet the Author Holly Lyn Walrath~

Holly Lyn Walrath received her Master’s degree in Creative Writing from the University of Denver. Her short fiction and poetry has appeared in Strange Horizons, Fireside Fiction, Liminality, Crab Fat Magazine, Mithila Review, Nonbinary Review, and other places. She works as a freelance editor and currently resides in Seabrook, Texas, just five minutes from NASA Johnson Space Center. She has two cats named Cleo and Panda and a husband who is a pediatric physical therapist. Along with writing, she enjoys geekery, books, self-aggrandizing statements, feminism, dystopia, and cat pictures.

~Follow Author~

Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads | Amazon | Website

Buy Glimmerglass Girl Finishing Line Press

 

The ebook format I read was borrowed at Netgalley

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s